Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

The Longest Day of the Year Write-Along

Journal prompts for the Solstice
2

Welcome to the longest day of the year!  Where I live in Pittsburgh, sunrise is at 5:50 AM and sunset at 8:54 PM on the Solstice, so today is a long, bright day ☀️

I have a ritual for the longest day of the year: I get up early in the morning to watch the sunrise, and then I spend as much of the day outside as I can (in SPF 50 and a baseball cap, because skincare) and then, as the day winds down, I watch the sunset from the top of the hill in our community, which has a spectacular view (see below!).

It’s a day that always feels like magic—the long light, the sun reaching its furthest point on the horizon, the profligate garden, the muggy heat. It’s also the start of a new season, so it’s a good time to pause (on purpose) and wrap your head around the transition.

I made this video as a gift to you, so you can share my journaling practice. It’s one of the few things I’ve successfully added back into my life from my Pre-Pause creative routine, so I consider it a huge win. Maybe journaling with me today will help those of you in the throes of a Pause feel connected and curious. I’d love that for you 🩷

There are lots of ways to get this done–

  • You can write along with me

  • You can doodle in a sketchbook

  • You can use these ~15 minutes as a kind of meditation, where you close your eyes and breathe and just think about the prompts 📿

  • Choose your own adventure

The goal is to connect with your internal compass and take a breath before diving into the long light of summer.

If you end up using these prompts, I’d love to hear what comes up for you! Share your experience with the Long Pause community with a comment! 💬

2 Comments
The Long Pause
The Long Pause: Podcast edition
The Long Pause is about being creative, being stuck, and what to do about it.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Erinn Batykefer